Knights Templar and Knights of Malta

knights templar

Candidates for the order must be Royal Arch masons and profess Christianity. There are two degrees worked the second being in two parts.

  1. Knight of the Temple
  2. (a) Knight of St. Paul or the Mediterranean Pass and (b) Knight of Malta.



The United Great Priory in New Zealand was constituted in 1988 and brought together the two bodies (commonly called “the black knights, and the white knights”) working in New Zealand at that time . The regalia worn is a replica of that worn by the original Knights Templar and consists of a white tunic with a large red cross thereon and a white mantle over the top and a cap. Swords are generally worn but some officers do not, for example, the Chaplain.

Share on Facebook
Bookmark this on Yahoo Bookmark
Share on FriendFeed
Bookmark this on Digg
Bookmark this on Delicious
Share on LinkedIn

Comments are closed.